Saturday, April 13, 2013

Review: Sworn to Raise

Sworn to Raise by Terah Edun

Seventeen-year-old Ciardis has grown up in poverty, a cleaner in a small vale on the outskirts of the kingdom. But beneath her kingdom’s seemingly idyllic surface lies a hidden secret. Whispers of an inept crown Prince are growing ever louder—intensified by the five year anniversary of the soulbond initiations.

 Amidst scandalous whispers, Ciardis finds herself chosen to train for the Companion’s Guild. She leaves her home and sets off on a personal journey to become a Court Companion. A position she’d never thought possible for a lowly servant to obtain, she must prove that she has the skills to attract a Patron.

 But she must master those skills quickly. If the legends are true, only Ciardis can harness the power to raise a Prince in an Imperial Court sworn to bring him down.

 This sensational series debut melds intricate storylines with remarkable characters and unforgettable magic. Sworn To Raise is ideal for fans of Kristin Cashore, Michelle Sagara, and Maria Snyder
Very unique world
Mostly interesting characters
A plot to enjoy

Setting was the best
Imagination spills out
Villages and towns

Killer libraries
Castles, kitchens, carriages
vivid around me

People weren't formed well
Ciardis especially
Could have been stronger

I did like some though
A select few had fire!
But only a few

Interesting read
Not very recommended
Was not bad, nor great

Well, this was a hard review to write! I didn't feel strongly one way or the other with this book. The ideas and setting were good, but I did not like Ciardis. I know some will though, and I am sure others will find it enjoyable.

The book tells us Ciardis is strong, and sometimes she is. But not all the time. Other times she is unreasonable. And her dialogue felt incredibly forced. Her personality kind of bounces, with no depth.

As I said in my attempt of a poem, the world and magic was great. I loved the setting! Just not my type of characters. And for me, characters are the key to what books I like and don't. Anyone agree with me?

3/5 bookcases
I liked it, kinda. But I won't read it again.

*i received this book in exchange for an honest review*

1 comment:

  1. It sounds like my kind of book, but I'm not sure if I'm really one for the cover. I suppose it's just one of those books that doesn't really leave an impact, whether good or bad, yes?